RSS Feed

Peter Pan Theology…

“The eye is the lamp of your whole body. When your eye is healthy, so too is your whole body.” Luke 11:34

So…Satan has been around far longer than any of us…and Old Satan is very good at what he does…dare I say, he knows us intimately. I have been wonderfully wired to be an extremely visual individual. Most of you, even if you only knew me for a few months, know that I am can recite dang near entire movies after seeing them once or twice. Still waiting on the movie that depicts all 66 books of the Bible…that’ll help somethin’ fierce with Bible memorization.

That said, in the midst of trying to handle the seemingly unending supply of images the Enemy already has to work with (3 years of relationship) I made the mistake of checking Jeanine’s myspace page. As if I was not going to fall right back into the same unquestioning and always instantaneous emotional response of, “wow, she sure is beautiful,” I was confronted with two new pictures she put on her site. YEP…she is sensational on the eyes, well, my eyes anyway.

Immediately, like an orchestra on cue, the Enemy began raking my door…first with his nails, playfully trodding the left to right ‘horse-trot’ sound we’re all so farmiliar with. This was as eerie as it was horrific as it both announced he was once again going to have his say in smashing in my heart’s front door, consuming any energy I would have, yet leaving just enough to feel sick to my stomach to keep me from falling to my stomach. If you all have your 8-balls this is when you shake them to see how the story is going to turn out: “Outlook not so good…”

Alas, the One given to us and in us is greater than any other…especially Satan. Whenever I feel anything even resembling potential for an attack I usually, for whatever reason, end up going outside into what always seems to be the safe and subduing cold air. I play about 8 chords on a guitar, which for anyone who knows anything about guitars, knows this is not very much…but with a guitar in hand, a zipped up fleece and an intention to fight this relentless battle of mine I headed into the night. I found the bed of my friends truck, only some 10 feet away from my apartment along the curb, which proved to be more than enough to defeat this.

Armed with my 8 chords and one scripture/principle in mind (“childlike faith”) I began to fight. You see, this struggle was so grown-up and such a picture of how a boy, who should have been loving his sister in Christ all along, instead perverted and accelerated the very worst of impatient plans to woo her. I hurried love…(grin)…totally unbiblical (Song of Solomon/1&2 Corinthians) and as a result now must endure this self-infected and Enemy-minded remnant of a thorn in my flesh. So, because this struggle seemed far too grown up, I did the very best thing I could think of…I asked God to inspire me to be a child again. And so Disney song after Disney song, with completely different riffs and chords (but still sounding halfway decent) rang through the air. I mixed in a few actual worship songs just to not feel completely stupid that I had been defeating, through God’s Spirit, a very routine and familiar Enemy victory. I believe “Kiss the Girl” from Little Mermaid and my parents song, “You’re just too good to be True,” were the best that danced around the cold night air.

kissthegirl.jpgAll that said, the stubborness of one Peter Pan to never grow up, albeit completely misguided, might be some of the most profound spiritual advice ever. 1Corinthians 13:11 tells us that as we grow up we give away our childwish ways…and while this is paramount to our growth and subsequent maturity as a believer in Christ, we must never forget that the smartest men and women of the scriptures this day in age have boiled down God’s existence to a very complicated and highly respected formula: a triangle (the Trinity). Yes, the greatest minds of our day have made our huge and complicated Lord into a shape. The everyday Jack and Jills that fill pews across America are chastized for placing God in boxes far too small to ever contain all of His glory and mystery. (grin) I suppose a triangle screams far more sophistication. 

Time for the disclaimer: I am in Seminary, and am in fact taking a course where the Trinity is of the utmost core of the course…and yes, I believe in it and love it. God: the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. BUT…a triangle boxes in God. peter-pan.jpg The point is…in an incredible time of need, where I literally felt all but ready to accept the flogging the Enemy was about to unleash, Peter Pan theology delivered me more than a divine triangle. Do I advocate for a second Peter Pan, Disney anything or even cold air and a guitar over the Trinity…no way. Neither do I advocate dwelling on the Trinity to keep you from everyday struggles, especially the ones that usually remind you how are easily you succumb to evil. I advocate listening to the Spirit that has been poured out upon and in each and every one if us (Rom. 5:5) for times just like my ‘guitar night.’

Now, for those of you who don’t speak ‘Spirit’ too fluently (myself included) I suggest doing what you would do to learn any other language…practice! Slowing the heck down and being still in your day would help for starters (Ps. 46:10). Then, and here’s the key… ready… ask God to reveal His Spirit to you. (Jer. 29:13, Mt. 7:7) It’s that simple. No it does not happen instantly, and it might not happen any time soon, but your dependence and request should not be contingent on such a result. Do you not still hunger and want food if food has not found its way to you in a while? Exactly! You still show up wherever needing, even begging for it. Beg God to reveal Himself to you. Believe me people, if we believe the Fall to be as embarrasing and horrific as it really was then we have no shame left but a continuation of the very worst we could have and already did commit against our God. Ask Him and He will show you Himself in His timing. God will not keep Himself from those who earnestly seek Him. So…EARNESTLY seek Him.

We are dulled by our world today, especially in this country, with having almost everything we need…and then some. When was the last time we actually needed something? We say often that “we’re starving,” but do we even know what starving is? I’ve fasted for days on end and I do not even feel like I truly understand what it is to “starve” and “hunger” (for His Word).

That said, we need to ask ourselves the tough questions and really be willing to be honest with ourselves…do we seek Him? Do we really seek Him? Or is the Gospel, especially for those of us who consider religion to be a big part of our lives (which is seperate from but does supplement faith I might add), simply too farmiliar to us. Have we become so aquainted with it that much like a warm blanket we forget why we ever needed it in the first place…what it was like to be cold? I know I do…and so, I pray for all those I know, and all those I will never know that God, “being 3 who’s and 1 what” will never be something we consider close enough. I ask you: When the Enemy is playfully drumming his fingers on your heart’s door what will you do? My advice (Jesus’ as well): make your faith simple…fight like the most mature believer around by becoming a child (Mt. 18:2-4) – seek Him and REST in His arms in order to wage war.

So… I ask…have you forgotten what it was like to be cold?

“Have to fly, have to fight, have to save Maggie, have to save Jack…Hook is back!”

“Have to pray, have to fight, have to know we’re already rescued and save others…Satan’s back!” 

  God bless to all my Lost Boys (and girls)…PRAY!babyprayer.jpg

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

8 responses »

  1. Thank you for the hot chocolate today. You will be in my prayers as often as I pray for what’s-his-name ;). Remember…I’m here when you need a big sister to talk nonsense to!

    Reply
  2. You are, more than you realize, seeking God …that smile may or may not come from me, but please know that it is coming from Christ right now! This may be your “Isaac” but remember that it wasn’t the knife in the air that God saw as obedience it was every step along the way even moving out early in the morning as Abraham did… probably with every speck of fear and confusion that we all have in our hearts most of the time. I may not be holding your hand, but I will walk and pray beside you!

    Reply
  3. Yeah…your meant to be a kids pastor! : )

    Reply
  4. Trist, I love watching you process through the tough stuff in life and always end up at the foot of the cross (no matter how long it takes, you get there :). I am encouraged by watching, talking, and being friends with you. Keep growing my friend!

    Reply
  5. Justin….you astound me with your word pictures and how much you want to please the Lord with what you do and say. I know that if you keep your eyes on Him, He will lead you through this time of hurt and pain to the most beautiful prize you could ever imagine. I am praying for you, and love you very much.

    Reply
  6. Amazing… I was just browsing and came acrossed this. It made my night thank you for seeking God

    Reply
  7. Thank you. Exactly what I needed to hear this morning. Godspeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

