RSS Feed

Will sing for yogurt

So, I, being the ever clumsy secretary that I barely manage to even suck at being, showed up an hour early for our 10:00Am meeting this morning in Glasgow. I was trapped in the rain, without keys to get into my church…so… what does one do?

That’s right, he races, guitar in hand, to his nearest Starbucks.

I set up shop right in the front window nook, which meant I was technically priviledged to three spots worth of room, seeing as how no one’s going to sit with a total stranger, especially not one with his bible open and worship music rolling off his lips.

And then it happened…a random, rather pleasant looking lady went walking by…smirked, stopped, grinned, stared, and then made her way in from the sidewallk, around back into where I was sitting, all the while allowing one of the slowest moving smile I’ve ever seen to still be taking shape on her face…until she was hovering over my shoulder with the words.

Well, bless your heart. I realized what had happened. She couldn’t see the Bible from the sidewalk which means she came in from outside because I was playing guitar. She moved slowly enough to get to me allwoing herself about a good 10 seconds to hear me play…I was singing “Dearly Loved” by Jimmy Needham.

She then saw my bible on the table…and so…apparently the combination of my rudmentary guitar and the bible was enouh to have her give me her newly purchased yogurt.

Think of the possibilities…I could play guitar and earn milk, eggs, celery stalks, mangos, sourdough bread…

I just thought it was important that everyone knows how I now plan on shopping.

God bless the Scottish.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

2 responses »

  1. God bless the Scottish indeed…

    Reply
  2. Now just imagine what we could earn if I was there with you, singing in my airy scottish voice…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

