RSS Feed

Love under fire…

“He won my heart by not doing anything…stupid. He showed his strength by not doing something like fighting, by just getting on the ground…by giving him what he wanted, not being greedy. He kept me safe by doing that.”

This was the comment by a young girl named Cierra at my Seminary, talking about her recent outing to some mountain-top where she and her now boyfriend (a good friend of mine) were held up at gun-point. I, seeing her light-heartedness as well as her sincerity about it now, opened my mouth and started with some stupid comment that basically sonsisted of, “wouldn’t that have been cool though if he had Jack baured the guy into the ground, got the gun and saved you.”

I made that comment before she made hers, and in the spirit of wanting her to be saved at whatever cost as well. But, I can see how inflection would have rendered that comment seemingly insensitive. I do not have a way to get a hold of her just yet, but do extend my apologies to her if she reads this before I talk with her next.

After giving this one some thought I began to think how amazing Cierra’s heart was to Love what Eric had done for her…even to the point of articulating it as her perfect idea of being rescued in that moment. I will never challenge that because, well, it is her pefect. I think there would have been two things running through Eric’s mind when this coward pulled a gun on him and his lady…’If he didn’t have a gun I would like to teach this guy a lesson’…and…’I need to do whatever I can right now to keep her safe.’

That said, I agree that Cierra was right to expect to have anything and everything necessary to save life be done in that moment. That was and will always be a Godly woman’s response.

I know how many guy’s hearts work…and how mine works. All I know is that if a guy pulled a gun on me and then told me and my Lovely to get on the ground…grrr…I would do it, because after all, Cierra’s right, keeping her safe is the most important thing in the moment…but for everything that is penned in wild and in the burnings of justice…I would have loved to hear a click in that barrel as he looked on with frustration having not loaded the thing…if for no other reason than to keep him from doing this to another Lovely and another protector somewhere else.

But, alas, Eric ma’boy…well done. You fought well and you fought perfectly…for you brought Cierra back home to her dorm room that day as safe as when you came to find her in the morning. You gave her back to God the way He awoke her that morning… nothing can be more heroic than that.

Bare in mind the amazing lesson in this…at least the one I gleaned…

  Eric was not Cierra’s boyfriend…and although they had a crazy, trying situation to deal with, Eric managed to give her, Cierra, back to God just as safe as she was when the day God shared her a little with him. How great a lesson is this for single guys…for me…it should be priority number one to return God’s daughters back to Him the way he shared them away for a time. When she returns home she should have secrets she wishes only to spill to her Dad about how great she was just treated by the wandering Prince. But other than shining a bit brighter, having had what she was made with spoken to for a small time, she should be safe and strong, back in her Father’s arms.

To Let go and let God…may it always be.

Thank you for story Cierra and Eric…may God continue to strengthen and kindle you two under new kinds of fire for the rest of your days.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

2 responses »

  1. you blog again! nice thought about a terrible thing Jay-tee

    Reply
  2. ahhhh, the amazing words of a wonderful friend. This type of situation was tragic to all involved but you articulated perfectly as to not twist the story up. I know for a face that I can think of a handful of friends who would do the same for me and they would not even think twice about protecting me from harm. It is people like that in our life that are life’s reward (second to God and everlasting life). It is in those moments that you know who your true friends are and know they will always be there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

