RSS Feed

the Pearl kids…

Posted on

 Last week on May 4th I officially taught children the bible for the first time. I recently, by God’s wonderful Grace, happened upon a church here in Portland called the Pearl Church. That might seem like a simple enough answer to perhaps a mild pursuit…but I assure you, it was an answer to a prayer that had left me looking all semester long. I went nearly 3 months without attending an official church. I made on-line sermons my Sunday morning fill-ins where pulpits once stood. But no more!

The Pearl found me and I wasted no time jumping right in. I met with Sara, the Children’s Ministry team leader later that first Sunday (Apr. 20th), and then met up with them later that that following week to figure out when I’d be teaching Sunday school in the monthly rotation. I observed the following Sunday closely, as I was teaching the following week.

This might seem like a simple thing, but for the longest time I have run into many close people I trust that have suggested to me that I should not follow my heart to want to teach kids because it is simply something that comes too easy, and might not challenge me or stretch me in my faith. Heeding their words over the past handful of years I have steered clear of officially teaching kids…which is funny, because I am always unofficially finding little groups of them and seizing opportunities to teach them.

That said, this last Sunday was like long awaited rains on my parched heart’s landscape. I’ve been banging hard on many doors in ministry trying to find my niche so to speak, and while I have not been perfect by any means, I have been pounding upon doors nonetheless. Sitting in front of the kids and teaching them lit up my heart in ways a girl should only hope to mimic if pursuing me. I felt like I could have melted right then and there, except for the fact that I was beautifully on fire and strengthened by every bit of it.

I was asked to teach on Communion (Luke. 22:19-20) and while I could have given them the age-old lesson along these lines, I walked them instead down through the festival of Passover, the amount of days the festival lasted, the bitter herbs, why the bread was unleavened, etc. These kids are brilliant and have this stuff written on their heart, often finishing my sentences for me…but I did manage to stump them a bit…haha, as well as the other teachers looking on a bit too…which is perfectly fine, as I too learned stuff I did not know when preparing for the kids. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…my little teachers make my heart so very alive!

There’s currently a Children’s Pastor position opening up at the Pearl and I’ve been encouraged to apply by members of the church. I don’t expect to get the position as I lack much official experience in the area, but I actually did a really good job on Sunday and absolutely love preparing for them, teaching them and watching them further their walks with our Lord. So, to call something as precious as this my job…haha, let’s just say I, regardless of whether I ever end up officially working at the Pearl, may have found a niche God had in mind for me all along. God bless His little ones! 

www.pearlchurch.org

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

4 responses »

  1. Wow.

    Justin, that’s awesome! I’m really happy that this opportunity has come along for you!

    Reply
  2. you will definitely be an inspiration to those kids as you have been to me. Good job 🙂

    Reply
  3. YAY! I’m glad that you finally are getting to “officially” do what you love! You’d be a super great Children’s Pastor!

    Reply
  4. Glad you’ve found somewhere to get plugged in. Hope you’re blessed being there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

