RSS Feed

clumbsy affections

Scottish flowers

They called to me long before I ever knew their voice.

They bade me in trust and welcome…

and I found them.

Just as sure as they had called to me…

an ocean away, waiting, expectant, and with wild eyes,

I found them.

Spending aroma and afternoon on me, they called me friend.

I walked among them for more time than anyone could ever call deserved.

It is a wandering that still carries all the vivid of yesterday, but so too cradles a time of tragedy and Love long absent.

The rarest of Scottish flowers were placed in my hands…

I breathed them in,

quickly and forever,

but somewhere along the way, I forgot,

and befallen intentions gave way to befallen hands.

For as surely as I breathed them in,

let them deepen my world,

and remind me of how humble one must be in order to approach the lights of Love…

I threw them to the ground.

But Scottish flowers are stronger than my momentum could ever be, and they survived my clumbsy hands and failed good intentions.

They now live free.

They now live mindful of misplaced affections, for even that which wishes to protect them must get close enough to do so.

That which is sacred forbids even a careless touch.

Such were the Scottish flowers I walked among…and I threw them to the ground.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

Leave a Reply

