RSS Feed

someone’s someone

A friend wrote me a question tonight…

“Those that don’t follow what God calls them to do and those that don’t reach the people that God wants them to reach… it’s almost as though they have those “unreached” people’s blood on their hands. What do you think?”

and so I thought…

As much as the fire and brimstone preaching of old is frowned upon today, especially in the reform circles, I think they had/have it right in so many ways! No, not to promote fear for fear’s sake…but to promote an appropriate and necessary fear of God (1Pet. 2:17, Isa. 66:2, Prov. 1:7). They have a sense of urgency and affection that is lost today…one that brews a vital tonic to our dull lives…A real fear of our Lord! I believe this appropriate fear can cripple, quite easily cause one to cower, and can be at the core, along with Love, of what can tear a man into a thousand pieces. But, I also believe this fear inspires us to know, that in confidence, we are truly spared…spared from such real wrath. However, and this is what’s missed out by many of us today, myself included…that fear should provide us with the most amazing immediacy and reminder around… Some are not spared!
 
If we believe that certain people are brought into our path and then thrown subsequently into fire at the end of their days…and that we literally could have been there only someone to bring them Home…then I cringe.  I twist and buckle in my memories as they recount the blatant reminders of such lost souls. I churn and wonder sickly…how many might I have missed because of an insensitive, selfish, overlooking life I called faithful?

God allowed me to consider my potential for the wrong team…

I am guilty of treachery beyond anything I’ve ever heard a news story cover. As I search my depths, I often feel capable of being the leader that would have seen to Jesus’ crucifixion. I would have pounded the nails myself I feel. I would have thrown out my shoulder and my breath by drawing back the whip to His body. Equally I feel fit to fulfill the role of the Eden treason, and can see myself whole-heartedly trusting God’s most beautiful angel…and in one swift bite hear the world break as I forsook all the simple trust and allegiance God had placed in me, and I in Him. I shudder still to think that the slithery creature, renowned for deceit and demise, is not simply the one who seduced me, but that I feel more akin to being the belly-sliding seducer myself. 

Whether my possibility leads to an evil cameo, the malevolent conspirator, or the orchestrator of hate itself, I find myself limitless in fallen possibility. 

But there is a similar dark to consider all the same…my role in missing souls, and feeding family to flame.

To miss out on being someone’s someone…I know no greater regret before God.

I know I have looked right through and past such souls…let alone all those I never knew strayed into such peril after crossing my path.

I Pray for many of us to realize that God intends for us to be someone´s someone…and, for our part, whatever that may be, to help bring them 

                                                                                                                                          Home.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

Leave a Reply

