RSS Feed

That’s what you do…

My first memories unfortunately had words in them, but I had no use for them in this place. I struggled even then to fall into someone. If I fell, I would hurt, and if I hurt, then I would want to hide, and if I hid, then I might not be found…and simple logic is as simple logic does.

I still toss confidence in the wind, let it circle my truer colors, hoping to be discovered, but hoping more to be explored. But you always held me…with your eyes, with your arms and with your hope.

Through a rosy lens I would brave the world to keep from graying up, I often fell into you…falling asleep, falling in Love, falling into parts of me I never knew I had, let alone arouse for war. 

You fought for the hope of strangers and friends, calling them all family. You still fight for the belief in the hope they long abandoned. You are a strong wind in this angry ocean lapping up the world’s indifferent. You have always burned lighthouse from where I stood, and I have always watched from the best place possible…through your eyes.

We have played with words ’til the night came running in, sending everyone to their eyelids. We have laughed to a place beyond even tears…where sounds not possible escaped us. You taught me of promises and Life and how the two often concert and call upon one another to survive in righteousness…no matter how much it hurts to hold fast. You taught me of selflessness and of virtue I have still to even read about. You carried heaven on your heels and always looked back to remember not only where you came from but remember how you came from.

I wonder now, in this the fight of your life, how graceful you will bestow upon us the remarkable robes of endless prespective, lending life to times when breathing forgets its cue. You will bow and dance and laugh at the time to come. 

You carry the faith of those that have gone further than your own, for you are Christ’s token of affection, always and ever burning for our paths.

You will continue to Love me…flooring me with how…and forever bestilling me with why. You will love us, like never before…

and then you will leave us.

In truth,

 we will simply leave you for a while, as we cannot come with you. You go, in good time, to warm the home we all belong to. You will fill its halls with light that hurts the most capable and brash of Lovers, reminding them that covenant and King are both choice and commandment, both priviledge and expectation…both right and now. 

God will take you one day, and I will wave you on to things I can only believe in.

And when the gentle clement of the moment shifts with the on-coming humanity of it all…

I will remember and believe in the Truth… 

You went back home.

But before you did,

You loved us.

   that’s what you do…when you Love someone.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

One response »

  1. Katie Harrington

    Though I already knew you were going to post this (or at least some of it) I didn’t think who it might be or might not be.. Now as I read it again there were various people that came to mind. That is all, I would have more to say but I’m speechless right now and a million things are racing through my head..

    Keep on doing what you are doing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

