RSS Feed

Faintly heard

I can barely hear you.

You´re so very softly spoken…

but alive in my distance.

I find myself grinning, as you are always trying to speak to me.

I wonder…

do you know that I can hear you…

that I´ve always heard you?

If you knew,

then I am yours,

for you have shown me what it is to chase someone with wonder in their steps and wild in their eyes…

what it is to traverse whatever distance necessary,

just to be next to them,

warm whispers and all.

If you knew not of your earshot,

then you are the great Lover indeed,

not needing the promise or even the hint of it returned.

I wonder though…

how you have waited?

I take courage and laugh in all that hope undresses as I think that you are truly my best friend, simply without the stories yet.

I can barely hear you,

but I need not words, glimpses or even the possibility of you to move these selfish feet beyond their own path.

You my dear are the refulgent light in the spilt sky,

piercing through everyone´s gray above.

My palms turned up,

my eyes follow suit,

confused looks swirl all around my behavior,

as I watch all the commotion you cause.

I see something others cannot even dream of…

I watch the sky turn from gray to great as much of Heaven whispers of your approach.

I laugh as I think of how many in this world pass you by…

seeing only a pair of sprinting eyes.

But your eyes,

those dismissed treasures,

carry all the clamor of God in them,

and people,

fools,

miss them entirely.

I hate how you and your heart are misunderstood at times.

There are some though who are quick to listen.

The smart ones, those who stop long enough to take notice.

Those wise hunters, stopping long enough to breathe you in.

Even those who stick around long enough to speak of lofty ideas having to do with you, them and forever…

they are blessed indeed.

I pray they may not waste your time…

and I pray that those handful of brothers fail gloriously at sweeping you away from where my heart was always meant to stay and fight.

I can barely hear you.

I pray that you are so caught up in our God,

so consumed with His Love,

so incredibly spoken for,

and swooning so deeply over Him,

that I am nothing more than a distant momentum,

for now only seen in capricious, unguarded grins.

I long for your heart…

that it may be strengthened by God,

daily,

nightly,

and all makes up your in between.

I long for it even to be smashed into countless pieces when necessary.

If it were possible, I would ask that all of its misfortune bare its weight upon my own,

but despair brings us back home,

tears remind us of who we are,

and I need you to prepare for the how much I will Love you, by Loving God in ways that befuddle this world.

I pray before the Great Lover,

that you become filled and capable as He is.

I ask that you be incredibly awakened by Him…

that you are finding yourself

this side of Grace,

and this side of Heaven.

I pray you are dying…

Dying to your old self, and being made new,

pure,

like our Dad,

“able to laugh at the time to come.”

I burn for this to be yours my friend,

because that is the only way anyone would ever be able to say,

when the time is right,

“I do not need you, for God is enough…but I want you with all that I am.”

I wish to one day make war and peace in foreign lands among all those this world chooses to forget about.

I will flip tables on end, and turn hearts inside-out and back around to our God.

We will not always be safe.

But, we will Love people profoundly.

We will Love them Home.

With dirt under our fingernails,

mosquito nets our covers,

orphans as our good mornings

and evil in our way,

we will Love His people.

We will abandon everything to this end and beginning

so much so that,

as scripture promises,

evil will be prompted to pull out all its stops,

and pull all the strings it knows,

in order to keep us from being the God’s glorious thieves…

Re-claiming His children from the fallen Prince

I smile in these confident fortellings,

as I know we will laugh so much together…

and that that sound alone will be tonic for wounds the fallen one himself will have to give me in order to slow us down.

I grin,

with Holy swagger,

knowing my girl will stir up the devil in all her light.

I can barely hear you.

But I do hear you.

I was chosen by God.

He is now my choice…

and so you are mine…

because long ago God chose to me this heart…

which would always know you even before I did.

The soundtrack of you is beginning to sound more and more epic every day, and I am thrilled beyond all hesitation to play my part now and eventually.

Only such a strength and warmth as yours could draw this heart out like water from a well…

And draw you have.

Draw you will still.

I trust how you have waited, and how still you wait.

I can barely hear you,

but hear you I do.

Go now…

Love others.

and know I am working on my heart

so one day I may be able to say,

“I do not need you, for God is enough.

But I sure do want you,

all of you,

forever.”

Be His.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

2 responses »

  1. Justin. You do not know me and most likely we will never meet, but I need to tell you – you have given me hope tonight. Your words, so beautiful and so honest, have inspired my heart. I hope, I pray, that God will show her to you soon, if He hasn’t already, and that both of your hearts will be in line with His and ready for such a love. Keep writing, Justin. Keep sharing and growing and setting the real-life example of righteousness that this poem lives. And thank you for sharing this with me. It is a blessing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

