RSS Feed

You will not

I am always leaving…

But You God

are not.

You do not.

You will not.

I am always leaving

something,

somewhere,

Someone..

But You, God of the Angel-Armies, You do not leave us!

You will not leave us.

 

It is ever my delight

to wander toward You,

You the Promise.

I remember how first You first wooed and lulled me in deep.

And it is ever my joy to learn how to live in light of such a gift as You.

My heart struts and sings where I would break my body endlessly to follow.

To the place where I want nothing but You.

Not blessing,

Not guidance,

Not anything

But You.

 

My heart twists in its old flames.

It writhes in yesterday´s affections

But in you Lord,

my heart is made capable.

´Tis made calm.

In You God,

The One who will not leave us,

Life is found and Given.

My heart weeps

loud as a war-drum.

It lifts its surrendered hands high,

calls you Father,

God of the Angel-Armies,

and Lover.

 

My heart has been restored.

I know now

and forever

I am found in You,

and nothing can ever be the same.

 

My heart remembers and grins

As I think of the God who will not leave me…

The God I cannot leave.

I sit in untouchable peace in You,

only quarried by my own doubt.

In You Lord, I am driven to Peace,

hurried to Hope,

for You are The Father I cannot escape or hide from…

No matter how hard I try.

 

I am always leaving…

But You, Star-placer,

You are greater than my fears,

greater than my mistakes,

greater still than me.

 

If You had a weakness Oh Lord,

it would stomp out my challenging strength

with all the ease of emptying Your pockets.

You,

Oh God,

to not grow weary… not at all,

not of me.

You rescue me,

and rescue me,

and then do something Beautiful and fierce,

You rescue me.

You re- rescue me even from myself,

every morning the pillow pushes me away.

You hunt me.

You dangerously search for me,

shouting forgiveness and Truth over whatever wandered distance,

down whatever transgressed trail,

through whatever darkness,

and You pull me back to shore.

You catch me,

clean me,

teach me,

dress me for war,

tug on my ears and ruffle my hair

just to remind me not to take myself too seriously,

which is among the greatest weapons I learn to wield.

You make me free.

You will me back to you,

directing my Prodigal steps,

and then You make me, all over again…

Remember the fight and Love between wretch and Victory.

You brand me more than found,

More than a man,

More than a prince,

More than even a son

For You call me,

Your son.

 

For that famous claim,

For that undeserved reach into pitch black,

after little ol me,

Where you stole me from fallen…

That is where I always remember I once was,

Where You chose to go.

That is where I send Satan´s gift-wrapped death,

Which he marks

Awaken before it´s time.

I send it to You…

to die!

Before Your throne,

Before Your voice…

from that place I draw Your strength in,

my weakness.

 

I find myself startlingly brave when I am in Your Light.

 

With you Lord, there is no Spirit of fear.

With You, there is no sinking sand where there is staff-split water.

With You, there is no record of wrongs

that were drowned in Your sea of forgetfulness.

With You, there is no hint of darkness and defeat

in such marvelous Light as You.

With You, fear has no control in dens where Lions are made into puppies.

With You, despair has no power

where thunder and Voices alive swallow up the air.

With You, odds cannot overwhelm,

not when you charge strong

with wild-eyed, war-ready Angels at your back.

 

With You, undefeated, war-tested Giants

bow before Your conquering kid…

How you must laugh,

A boy-King, ruling men!

With You, we see a miracle,

a defeated ancestor of the mighty Nephilim,

lying still,

conquered,

and of all places,

beneath Your boy´s little feet.

His fallen head severed and staked as memorial

so that all would know,

there is but one God,

and he does not share power.

 

I am always leaving.

But you are not.

You will not.

 

And so,

as strong as the promise of Heaven…

Believing that when everything else fails us

this is still how we are held,

We quiet our efforts,

our reaching hearts,

and learn to remember

and belief once again,

that You are God,

the God,

our God,

the Intimate One…

of nooks, crannies and cosmos.

 

And You, will not leave us.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

2 responses »

  1. beautiful poem, justin! I enjoied reading it very much. 🙂

    btw – thanks for your encouraging words regarding my little song… I have to confess, I stole your former blog name, for the third line in the chorus… I seriously thought to myself, “Oh gosh.. I stole someone’s blog name for a song.. someone I have never met before.. oh brit – that is so stalkerish.. now iam talking to myself in the third person.. oh great…”

    haha.. oh wow… gotta love those little moments of insanity – dontcha? Anyways, I hope you dont mind… Thanks for the mikeschair rec. I cant find the specific song you suggested, but i really enjoy their stuff anyways.. 🙂

    One last thing – you rocked out with a g chord, eh? Guitar, i take it? FYI its a combo of an A, C#m, F#m, E, and D. Not in that order, though. haha. “A” is… REALLY high though.. at least for me, anyways. way to drop it down to a singable key… haha

    Blessya brother

    Reply
  2. I’m sitting here absolutely enthralled by what you write… I won’t apologize this time or wonder if it’s crazy. I’ll just keep enjoying it, and say… thanks… for your heart and for inspiring me a bit to start a blog on this site- I’ve never had one before but always meants to start:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

