RSS Feed

Fingerbitten and Joyful

I have been accused of being an over-thinker at times, but also praised for thinking through things so thoroughly. So, somewhere in the midst of all that I sometimes get caught up in the seriousness of life, which is both good and bad.

It´s Good because there simply are certain things, very important things, that demand our sincerity and our serious side…but it´s BAD because this world is fallen, and quite simply runs much to the beat of anything but God, making tragedy like clockwork…there is always gonna be something to cringe about, become serious for and not fight it with often times the most serious thing of all: laughter. I think a great place for someone to find themself is warring wonderfully in a way that you have a serious Joy about you. 

A great way to gain prespective on where you´re possibly at with your serious playful balance is the following question…I think a great question to ask someone is… who is Jesus? The way they answer will often tell you a lot about where they´re at, where they´ve been and more importantly, exactly what they think about the most intimate and important thing to them.

I for instance do not always picture Jesus braving the night and wading through the early mornings in Holy laughter with our God. Perfect example…I focus so much on how monumentous Jesus´task was. Good thing it His task was not appointed to me. He did not accomplish His feat because He engaged in Holy misdirection, or Divine distraction…He instead met in head on with a Spirit of Joy and a faithfulness to that Joy that I think would show our Jesus to have been snickering and grinning much more than we sometimes think Him to be…at least more than I do anyway.

And so, I submit to you a video that is exactly what this world needs more of…something to remind us  not to not take ourselves or our lives more serious than we often do.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

3 responses »

  1. CHARLIE! This is one of my most favourite YouTube videos!

    As far as overthinking… Sometimes its by overthinking simplicity, that we discover the marvelous in the everyday of God’s creation…

    [There are two people in this world… Skimmers, and divers..I am most definately a big picture skimmer, and can loose sight of the details quite easily… Finally in high school, my favourite teacher, blind folded me, and send me for a walk.. (she of course followed me to make sure i didnt veer off towards the highway). Why did she do this? DETAILS! FORCED OVERTHINKING… hehe…She forced me to focus on the details for my own survival, and in 5 minutes i learned more about my surroundings, then I had all year. Be careful with how deep you dive into things.. but regardless, it is a gift… I thank the Lord for people like you, who will overthink for me, so that I can be who Iam, and not worry about the fate of the world.. 😉 hehe. bless you, brother ]

    Reply
  2. oooowwwww, charlie! hahaha charlie bit meee! love it :o) happy noo years JT

    Reply
  3. The video of Charlie made me laugh! As in, really laugh, as if my face had a facial massage or something! I had to play the video again for another laugh. Oh, I love that little boy Harry. Was it Harry? His face turned red when Charlie bit his finger again, but Harry never showed any tantrum at all… just continued to love Charlie and laughed! God is good all the time! I will bookmark this so that I can go back to the video if I feel I needed a laugh. Thanks, thanks for this post! God bless you with joy and laughter! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

