RSS Feed

Remnant

kids-in-loveI almost can´t believe it´s been over a month since I last blogged. Even in my recent, busy past of playing hopscotch across the country and negotiating pressing on with my Master´s degree in usually the opposite end of everywhere else I was needed…I still always managed to find time to spill on to paper.

Staying off the radar and being consumed like this reminds me of when I was back in High School. My closest friends would attest that there was this portion of my Senior year where I basically vanished. I didn´t abandon them and be that guy, but I did vanish from all those extra times I normally spent with all the people God had placed in my life.

As you can guess, the reason for the vanish was a girl. I found myself smitten with a cowgirl. This was something new and refreshing to me. She was genuinely fun to spend time with. And best of all, she was an escape from everything that was already convincingly uninspiring and fake about High School.

Much like the girl worth vanishing for, I have been found by a new Love… a new inspiring face to give of my time…a new escape that comes blazing with all the freedoms of Christ. For two months now I have been co-laboring with the Lord in planting a church with a team hailing from Bloomington, Indiana…with original roots as far away as Africa. Our team looks like an affirmative action poster… and I bet the Lord smiles everyone time He sees all the colors of His kids frozen in time for testimony and joyful reminder.

ireland-coastRemnant Church was birthed out of a vision from God through one Irishman´s relationship with Him. It did not come from  a big church tithing excess, or out of a school for churchplanting, where one learns how to execute his and/or her efforts in all the ways necessary to see success. True, God can and often has been in many of those facets of seeing His Kingdom advance…But what an incredible feeling and sensation to know that God gave specific vision and breath to this particular church and the planting of it.

It´s a bit nuts when you read about how it all began…and you really have to read the quick little page-long history of how the vision on  Remnant´s website (www.remnantloves.me) in order to truly begin to understand the supernatural depth of it all.

Some of the highlights of it´s journey involve its impartation to our Lead Pastor, Mark McGovern,  some 30,000 feet in the air, as he was on his way to a mission´s trip in the Dominican Republic, at age 13 (some 14 years before he would actually plant). That same dream came to him again on his way to yet another mission´s trip some 5 years later. It even has some Indiana Jones to it, with a whole X marks the spot craziness, but I won´t spoil it with my re-telling.

I absolutely Love the people I am working alongside. The Lead Pastor has generations upon generations of Irish ancestry, something I adore!

africa-shapeThe team has got some Africa beauty to it as well, as our lead Productions Director is from the Congo. Everyone on the team is married, or months away from that step…nearly all of them inter-racial couples. It´s beautiful!

Everyone of staff is working full-time jobs…something that I nearly cry about in prayer time because it´s so inspiring. What a testimony Paul certainly had when he was negotiating through his tent-making ministry days. We here at Remnant get the privilege of looking at people with tired eyes, both from planting a church, (about 30 hours a week) and having full time jobs (about 40 hours a week)…and through those bloodshot 50-70 hours a week eyes we say…we Love you…and I think in large part because we labor so, people all the more allow the space in their lives for the God in us to be heard!

And so, that said, we are officially launching this coming Sunday! We´ve already been in our movie theatre (a space that was not supposed to be rented by anyone originally) for three consecutive Sundays now, but this Sunday is Remnant´s birthday! We are gonna keep bringing people home To God´s embrace at Edward´s Cinema in Fairfield, Ca. and would invite any and all genuine prayers over our times to come in that place.

remnant-team

As you can imagine, the team is often tired during the week. All of us, whether it be with the long nights of having new babies, picking up second jobs to help us be able to live closer to the church, or simply labor through the many, many things that God has continually placed in our charge…we all could use prayer for strength and energy to keep on keep on.

The most recent praise note is after sifting through the growing pains of fielding a worship band…among which was us resorting to some Hillsong DVD worship video (not the ideal choice for Remnant´s staff) we were approached by a guy and his 6 member worship band who are now going to lead our church in worship for a good 2 months it would seem. Praise God!!! We went from trying to figure out how to upload cross-lyrical scrolling, Live projector syncing and Hillsong DVD…to now having to make room for a full Live band that has a cheloist! DVD to cheloist! Haha, God is in control.

So, that´s where I´ve vanished to and who I have been Loving with these past few months. This is the busiest week by far with upwards of 5,000 door hangers still needing to be hung, a stage needing to be built, personally for me I also am over the Children´s Ministry along with another woman, and so this week will be the first week of curriculum and worship for us. Along with a million other things that simply have to be flushed out, decided upon, practiced and prayed about…we´ve got a lot to do! But, as the whole team is in unity about, it´s all worth it to see our mission statement become a reality.

 So people far from God fall in Love with Jesus.          

Please check us out when you make time on our website. It´s ever undergoing reconstruction and will constantly continue to look better and better as the weeks upon weeks of Loving Fairfield stack high and deep in all our stories.

Follow along as we make History with His story.

 

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

6 responses »

  1. Hey Justin, guess who? You are right, this is an amazing story and sometimes I can’t believe that God is allowing me to some how be a part of all this! And to think, it all started from a strangers phone call to me. I knew the second I got off that call, if this was really to come about without ever meeting anyone or anything about anything, I knew this church would be playing a big role in my life and it would for ever change my life in a huge way. I have carried that fact around for over a year now and last night was my comfirmation! I don’t know when or how but i do know that the change is coming!!!

    Reply
  2. Amen Kare! I Love it!! You´re right, it is a bit crazy to think that much of your current season of life just now was met head-on, made to switch tracks, and then pursued dearly down that new consideration…just because of a stranger´s phone call. It sounds impossible…which is good news. When it seems impossible, it probably is…unless of course it´s given to God. Bravo for being open to the impossible around you, ahead of you and most importantly, calling out from within you.

    Anyone who comes all the way down to the mall just to hang out with us at Remnant is family for sure. I look forward to more chances to talk and get to know more about our newest Remnant sister. My heart is thankful that we have become Karen-stronger as we all move forward to Love on the rather thick-skinned city of Fairfield.

    Lovestrong Karen!

    Reply
  3. Justin, what sweet words… thank you! I’m waiting for the audio of Sunday so I can get a sense of how it went. I was thinking about all of you during my class and know that it went well!

    I am so ready to live a life that doesn’t make sense to the average person and knowing that it is all about God… sounds like fun to me!

    By the way, I read allot of your posts here and love your writings. Do you write songs??? Do you turn your writings into songs?

    A friend of mine and myself are coming to visit you guys next Sunday. I told her all about Friday night and she is excited about coming with me on Sunday!

    Friday night reminded me of a friend of mine. A while back when I had first started going to church, there was this lady that I had a connection with before I ever knew her. She played in the band and there was something about her that joy and love oozed out of her from the stage and I wanted what she had… remember I hadn’t even met her at this point. After we finally met there were times that Sherry could just stand next to me and not say a word and I felt love bounce off of her and consume me. And that is how it was for me on Friday night, you guys really didn’t have to say anything to me… I felt love all over me just standing there. So hanging out at a mall to get the “it” factor was well worth it. I would hang out any where to get a repeat of that!! Thanks again for the loving words and hope to see you on Sunday.

    Your “new” sis in Christ ~ Kare

    Reply
  4. Ahhh…so the silence is given a name….I was beginning to think that you only wrote back to Jones….
    It’s good to hear you are involved with a passionate team!
    Now…respond to my email or else! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Hi Justin,
    This is completely random and we don’t know each other, but I was trying to get on your church’s website to find out more about you all and it’s not working right from my end. I hope you don’t me saying this, but I was struck by some things about you personally that I read somewhere. I found this blog pretty quickly, and even though I don’t know exactly what you’re writing about I love what you’ve said and the way you write.

    Reply
  6. Justin! How can I not offend you? What you are doing is great, but we need you back at Multnomah. These guys are turning into pansies! Someone with a strong masculine spirit to rally the troops, and get them focused on faith and service. I am moving on campus to finish the battle out in the the MDIV program. Time heals all wounds. God willing and the creek don’t rise, I should be there end of August. Deadline for Multnomah is extended to August 10th and very easy. Anyway, you are missed. Dearly. You have my email? zaelisa@hotmail.com
    LOVYA Z (as is Zora)

    P.S. My childhood friends are from Peru..how come I didn’t know you were Peruvian? Anyway, one is a married pastor and the other a loving mom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

