RSS Feed

I dare you

A few nights ago I was sitting outside just enjoying God. They sky was gorgeous… the clouds felt arranged. The moonlight was impressive and cozy. The sky was colored a deep, warm blue… Like laundry water. And it just so happend that beneath this inspiring sky I had a brave thought… I wanted God to intentionally intervene in my dreams. I wanted Him to specifically hold hostage my dreamwork, in the hopes of shedding some light and revelation on what our church staff could really take to heart in order to really feel refreshed at ouor labor in ministry. Part of me did this because I Love the people on my church staff and really wanted to bring a word of knowledge to them that would instill a sense of joy back into all our lives.

I also asked for this intervention because I Love experiencing  God in this way! When God meets me in such clear, strong and undeniable ways, it inspires such Bravery in me…After all, I have God’s word on the matter…and that does not fail. In those times I feel inclined to run through, if need be, all the world’s ridicule and recommendation against my following of God.

And so, God answered my petition. He invaded my dreams with a simple but strong vision…One that vividly made its way through me long after I pressed myself away from the pillow for the morning.

Everyone on our churchplant team has been going so hard, and so gung-ho on nearly everything we do, especially our Church, www.Remnantloves.me. He told me to let everyone (myself included) know the following…

Have fun. I enjoy you. I also enjoy what you are doing so much. It is delightful. In fact, if all of you have more fun, lighten up and let go of the outcome and leave that to Me, I will make Remnant’s atmosphere irresistible. I will make it so intoxicating with my Love that it will be like trying to frown on a waverunner…impossible unless you really force yourself to. So, have fun…and watch. I dare the people who I will place in your path to to frown in such available Joy. And when they can’t…I will say welcome home.      

waverunner kids

How playful and great is our God! He kept giving me visons of people I’d never seen before (kids, adults, etc) as well as people I have known throughout all my life (family friends)… Every single one of them, over and over and over, flying by me on waverunners ‘neath the Summer sun! And, every one of them, finding it impossible to frown.

If God’s Love and Joy and quite honestly His tendency to want to have a good time and Live life abundantly, is likened to a waverunner…then think about… have you ever frowned on one? It’s not so much could you question. It’s more of a why would you ever want to question. Where’s your focus? On God’s joy, on on something else. You will be let down even if you focus on the gifts of God more than Him. And let’s be honest, not many of us struggle with focusing on His gifts. And so…the God-of-Dares triple-dog-dares you

I dare you to frown on a waverunner!    

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

One response »

  1. So well put! I love Max Lucado and you seem to have that same gift of painting a picture and leaving an eternal impact with such a fresh, straighforward simplicity that anyone could embrace. Have you stopped writting here…(I say “here” because it wouldn’t surprise me if you are spending that time writing a book! God bless you to be a blessing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

