RSS Feed

24 hours

indiana-jonesOn Wednesday morning of last week… around 9:45am… I received a phone call from my pastor. He told me that he was being courted for a job opportunity for a part-time position as a Bible teacher as a local private school…and that he thought it would be the perfect job for me to pursue. Mind you…I already had a job and was making due with my, albeit crazy at times,  chuggin-right-along employment set-up. When something is possibly available…and possibly part-time (at best)… Well…you can see why I didn’t think too highly of this new opportunity. Nevertheless, it sounded like it could be promising, and there’s nothing wrong with applying…so…Hit the gas until the Holy Spirit hits the brakes.

I called my Mom at 11pm that night and asked her to print out the application online and fax it to me since I had no internet. Just after midnight I begin the application. 2:30am I finish the application. 8:00am I arrive dressed like a Missionary Doctor (khaki and blue) ready to turn in my application knowing full well I was not entitled to an interview, seeing as how they usually have three weeks of interviewing rounds before someone is considered yay or nay for hire. 8:30am, I am neck deep in what feels more like a family get-together than an interview. 9:20, after chumming it up and pseudo-interviewing commences I am reminded that this is a only a part-time position at best, even though they’d like to offer me more.

At 9:15am I leave feeling good, but only as good as a possibly part-time job can fill you. I go to pick up the awesome Assistant Director for my church’s Children’s Ministry: BIG. At 9:45am I receive a phone call while buying Starbucks for the Assistant Director of our Kid’s Ministry…saying, They would like to offer me the job without a formal interview, they never do this, but they feel God in it, they trust me, I’m the guy hands-down…BUT…the job has changed a bit.

My heart didn’t so much sink…It just wondered, and then laughed. I thought…”How could it get any more thin of an offer…it was already part-time. Maybe I’ll be hired on 1/4 time. That’s gotta have like a half of a benefit, right?”

Sure enough, the job had changed. I was not being considered for part-time, or 16th time or whatever it could have been reduced to. I was being offered a full-time teaching position and perhaps a coaching position of Vacaville Christian High School (private) teaching Bible to nearly the every student!!!

Haha!

WOW!

Thank YOU Jesus!

And that’s how God took 24 hours to turn my world on its head. Praise You God for Your leading up to this point. Your Love was on me when I was hearing nothing from employers and filling out dozens of applications, each one as defeating as the last. You were Good when I was roughin’ it working three different jobs at once. You were Loving when I was unemployed. And you are still the same, a Loving Father Forever, when I am blessed with such an opportunity and responsibility as to divide God’s Word for the next generation. I am humbled to be teaching the greatest subject in the world!

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

5 responses »

  1. That’s amazing! Nice to hear God stories in my wonderfully unemployed life.

    I hope you will open every class with “Observation, was and always the key to inductive bible study.” lol.

    Reply
  2. Yahhhh! Ah but Fact-checker…I bought you coffee. But I am in full support of the awesome part though.

    Reply
  3. That is fantastic! God is sooo good! Congrads! 😀

    Reply
  4. Hi! Thank you for this wonderful post. May I share mine please – I just got a job after a year or so of being unemployed – and then after 2 months, my employer said business is down and he doesnt need me anymore at the moment.. I prayed really, really hard after that. The following day, he said, he can only pay me part time … I said, thats fine… then I prayed again, even asked my churchmates to pray with me… after 10 days, he said, I’m producing good results with his business – and now I’m back to my fulltime job! Oh, God is so goooood! I praise with all my heart, soul and strength!
    Oh by the way, please pray for me that I can be in this company for a loooonng time… 🙂

    Reply
  5. God is so faithful! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

