RSS Feed

the tiny-huge gym

I love it when at 4:30am I am one of 10 people in a gym that can fit 400 people, but somehow everyone there is working out within 5-10 feet from each other. We seem to gravitate to the same equipment despite the hundreds of free machines to choose from. Oh to be sought after as much as free-cables…we should all be so lucky! It is in this place, haha, that all man rules are infringed upon while nearly all man points are nowhere to be found when we all crash together that early in the morning…bad breath, beading sweat, and those awkward grunts that are much easier to pretend to not notice when you are a preferable 100 feet away.

It feels a bit  like what I imagine being in a sitcom would feel like. And since that’s not clearly enough to enjoy, I then keep my headphones in, but pause the song entirely in the hope  to secretly listen into the outside world. Wow, it’s like eavesdropping out in the open! I feel like like I’m cheating on my fellow human; kind of like kissing with your eyes open. Anyway, just a few humorous musings about the wanderings of a select few who beautifully disregard the American 5 foot cushion we’ve all bought into.  I Love my tiny-huge gym.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

4 responses »

  1. I love your blog….You have a way with words, and you are VERY thought provoking. I can’t tell you how many of your blogs have convicted, encouraged, and made me cry. So, I guess what I’m trying to say is thank you…a lot!

    Reply
  2. Great! I’ll look forward to it!

    Reply
  3. Hey, I found your blog Mr. G! Haha, I “eavesdrop out in the open” ALL the time. It’s amazing that my friends and family actually think I’m listening to my Ipod. (Which is true about half the time.) I think it’s quite fun. And how in the world could you be at the gym at 4:30 in the morning!? I could never, EVER, do that in my lifetime. I dislike exercise too much. Will be looking forward to reading more of your blog. – L

    Reply

Leave a Reply

