RSS Feed

Mission Field Update #3

Dear Family and Friends,

My heart and mind are racing this morning with excitement. It might go without saying, but I really enjoy the time when I sit down and report to all of you about what God is doing out here on the Field. Sharing this life’s work with all of you is a mixture of humility and privilege and refreshes the truth: I live in a unique and constant place of blessing just now, having access to your prayers and strength and continuing to be able to chime in from corners of the world that you help keep me at. God is using each and every one of you and I pray for more of you as I seek more of God.

Good news…The U.K. portion of my trip is coming to a close! I am delighted to say that I have accomplished all I felt led to come here and do. I have spoken with dozens of Irish men and women who have both braved the Ministry as well as called Ireland and the U.K. home now for longer than I have been alive. It is in sitting across from the pub table, or the tiny living rooms that I see it…the genuine joy, fear and hope that comes out of these people’s faces and inflections…That is where God has given me such treasure and vision on this trip. I now have exactly what I need to pray effectively about whether or not the U.K. and Ireland will be a home for future ministry.

Preaching…

“There is no way a dark, dying, spiritually struggling country was not going to let an energetic, young, fiery man who wants to talk about Jesus all the time, call the U.K. home for a while and not fling him up behind a pulpit.” (Renfrew Baptist member)

Just this past Sunday I preached in a church that has been around since the 1800’s. Renfrew Baptist Church and lead Minister Brian Luse, who was my Pastor back 5 years ago in the States while I was at Seminary, invited me to bring God’s message to them. And I did! I spoke on Revival“Why not Renfrew.” It deeply impacted many of the congregation and they have invited me back to come and speak on my way back from Africa. This was a wonderful step of Faith for me to have the chance to take, and I pray I have caught the “preaching bug” as Pastors call it before I enter a part of the world (Africa) that will look to me to do this very thing!

Africa…

I am excited to say that the tickets have been bought! All the details were in place long before the tickets were purchased, but there is something sobering and freeing about buying the tickets. I depart for Kenya on the 17th of this month (5 days!) I am flying into Nairobi and then have a 10 hour trek up to Kitale in the North where I will be stationed. From everything that has been communicated my way, there are people praying for me and I will hit the ground running as soon as I set foot in that place. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Please bare with me as I am going to not have as many opportunities to so easily jump on the internet and communicate with you all once I call Africa home. Know that I will protect the day(s) during the week that I am able to have internet communication, and I consider it part of my Mission to keep you, my family, informed as to all that happens out here. Know I will do my very best in the coming weeks with my new home in Africa.

Praise Notes!

I have heard from the Kenyan Govt/Embassy directly that I do not need any more vaccinations than I already have. In short…when I show up in 5 days, I will be let in! Please keep praying for this to be the case, as this is something the Enemy loves to do to missionaries. I am believing I will not be held up at the border, and I want you to believe in that as well!

Prayer Requests

Confidence.
That I keep, in my heart and on my lips, the “preaching bug.”

Discipline.
That I keep the discipline that God has given me during my days here. It is up early, up late, chasing God and wanting more!

Joy.
That I would only focus on what God wants me to! I want my focus to be razor sharp so my Joy is ready to go!

 

with all my heart

Eph. 3:20

Justin Gunter

go.Missionary.go.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

One response »

  1. Wow, I wish I could have been there at that old cathedral. Sounds awesome!

    Anthony

    Reply

Leave a Reply

