RSS Feed

Orphans no more

Mission Field Update Letter #4

I’m sitting beneath a mosquito net, still batting away bugs from the light on my computer screen as I write this. Yes, I am definitely in Africa! I bet by the time I finish writing this sentence the power would have either flickered off or altogether shut off…Yep, there it goes! T.I.A. (this is Africa). Someone asked me today how long I have been here and I was taken aback when I had to admit to him “Only 12 days.” It’s only been 12 days but I feel like it could have already been 12 months. I have been so privileged to be able to do so much already in my short time, see so many different ministries, and genuinely serve in all of them.

Some of what I have been involved in thus far…

I’ve held AIDS babies until they fell asleep in my arms, helped dress for bed 89 under 4 year olds in an electricity deprived shelter…twice, I have played soccer with kids so far removed from society that some had never seen a Mzungu (white person), dressed wounds, ran children shelter kids to the hospital, waited in line at a clinic’s overflowing AIDS seating, preached to a Swahili speaking congregation, built a 5o foot sidewalk for kids at a Baby shelter, learned how to farm like a Kenyan, led worship, prayed against witchcraft, chopped grass with a machete, cooked Chai, hand-washed more clothes than Whirlpool, gotten stuck in the mud…twice, got chased by Thunderstorms and a Black Mamba, and so much more…

I can truly say I have seen God’s hand move in and around all that I have been a part of as of yet. I have been able to serve the missionary girl whom invited me to the Children’s Home that I am currently serving at by taking a lot of the pressure off of running the Children’s Home. I have made at least a good solid dozen contacts, from huge families to single people out here, all having invaluable insight into what they feel God is up to out here in Kenya. I have learned things from these relationships that took them years to learn.

All of these contacts have yielded many opportunities and I have felt a good pressure to sift through all that has been made available to me as I discern how to best continue and conclude my time out here. I have prayed thoroughly and consistently and have agreed with God that the following is what best serves what I need to do to prepare for the future in missions and honor right now while already being here.

I will continue to serve in Kitale, Kenya with “In-Step” (baby orphanage) building cement pathways and industrial sized chicken coupes. I’ll also help direct the overall management of the home as their directors will be heading back to the States on Furlough for 5 weeks in early December.

I will be splitting my time between In-Step and Malawa Ministries, which is run by a young married couple from Texas named Kim and Bud. I bonded very quick with both of them and could see myself doing what they do in the coming years and want to learn as much as possible from them during my time here.

This is where you the supporters come in…I intend on my time between In-Step and Malawa to keep me busy ’til about just after Christmas. If my support stays where it is at right now then I will have just enough to swing back through the U.K. to speak once more in Scotland and then head home to the States. My heart would like a few more things to happen.

I would love the opportunity to visit Heidi Baker and her ministries over Christmas break (13th-29th). Counting airfare, this trip will cost me roughly $450, which is great considering it is the very worst time to travel price-wise. I have always valued Heidi’s ministries and know I could learn so much from her if given the chance.

Along with wanting to visit Heidi’s ministry toward the end of my time here, I would also like to bless at least one, if not all of the 3 children’s homes I work at with various items. My hope is to bless the off-the-beaten-path home out in Burindi with clothes and toothbrushes…the “In-Step” baby orphanage with shoes (preferably Crocs) that won’t get dirty all the time (see facebook pics)…and Kim and Bud’s Malawa Children’s Home with a weed-wacker from in town. Each gift serves a dear purpose…From cleaning their teeth and preventing infections, to having clean shoes and preventing sores from developing, to keeping the grass/weeds manicured enough to not allow exceptionally poisonous snakes to creep the Children’s play areas.

If any church is excited about these ideas, please let me know. I’ve already have supporters chime in with amazing gifts… Soccer jerseys from England, bracelets from California, chocolate from Scotland, etc. But more is always needed. The trick is giving what they actually need. I can provide you with that information. You need only react.

I will list the items and prices below for any hearts who are interested. Kitale, Kenya is notorious for having a corrupt postal service, often confiscating goods that look just that…“good.” So, while it might not seem conventional, donate toward me through my church’s website, and mark under “purpose” where you would like the money distributed…shoes, toothbrushes, or weed-wacker. I will keep three separate accounts up and running for each of these gifts. All the gifts are to prevent harm to orphans, so I can’t think of a better to share a few bucks with Christmas coming up. I felt it heavy on my heart to share with everyone what was available to support. I will happily throw pictures up on my facebook of all you helped make a reality!

Prayer Requests!

Healthy…Thank you for your prayers for both now, before and in the time to come. It’s only been a 11 days, but I can feel it in my bones. It’s a good tired, but still just that. As construction and traveling begin to coincide, I imagine fighting fatigue will have to become a disciplined art-form. Pray I can stay disciplined and healthy during the rest of my time here.

Open Doors…Pray God continues to speak loudly and clearly and much is going on both here and back in the States. Lot’s of people are very excited to support what God has been showing through my time here. I would Love to have a way for everyone who wishes it to jump on board with what God has called me to.

Big Things…I feel as though big decisions and change are just around the corner. It’s an odd thing to think about more change considering I am still living in change (Africa), but I feel it coming nonetheless. Pray I can not focus on it or anything else but the Big Things God is trying to show me right now all around me.

Thank you again for your help, both financially and spiritually. You are my family, some by blood, many by faith, all by Love. I respect what you do. Because of what you do, I can do what I was made to do.

, With all Joy, Struggle and Adventure Africa comes with

Justin Gunter

go.missionary.go.

facebook.com/justingunter

Children’s Home items…

1.) 87 pairs of new shoes (baby orphanage)…$100

2.) 100 toothbrushes (two children’s homes)…$20

3.) Basic medicine for isolated/poor Children’s Home…$40 *this will last them 8 months)

http://www.remnantloves.me click “donate” then mark my name “Justin” AND for what gift “tooth,” “shoes,” “medicine”

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

Leave a Reply

