RSS Feed

Tug of War

Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand!

When Destiny, the thing you can’t shake off, get rid of, lose sleep over, outrun or make happen on your own, tugs on your heartstrings, do not insult it by planning to do it. Our timelines are often times the last defense between us and God’s plan to prosper us and bring every knee to bow. I have been under heavy attack the past few weeks spiritually as I have really dug in and sought out what God would have me do with my life. I already had some whispers and leading on the issue so I wasn’t flying blind, but I was, as with all things that the perfect will of God, flying into enemy territory. I believe the Enemy has limited resources and is not greater than He who is in us (God). That said, he’s good at being bad. He’s been practicing evil as a corporate entity for longer than anyone around, he’s never been at a loss for new recruits and endless enlisted re-upping, and he has some pretty intense henchmen: Angels, albeit fallen ones.

 Bottomline, when you seek God and His purpose for your life, know that there are only a few things the Devil cares about, if I can say it that way. Make no mistake, he cares for nothing but himself, but in that inward posture of self-preservation and self-exaltation, he is ever ready to defend people from connecting to God’s depths. He will seek to satiate the non-believer with more of Himself. He will seek to trick the believer into doubting what he or she already claims to know. And he will defend, like a ravenous lion roaming the earth, people from receiving the spiritual leading they need if they are called to start a movement.

Think about the nature of Revival. I know with all my heart it’s always God who is to blame for such beauty as Revival, but He is the one who designed the scenario of resigning Himself to working through the lives, lips and Love of people who would call down His name. So, people are to share in the credit God always intended to gather up with us. Revival started, no matter where you view it in History as an attitude of Belief. One man, or one couple, or some young girl, gathered up quiet time with God, sought Him, heard from Him and did what they knew they were given life to do. Mueller refused to think that money had to ever limit how many children (orphans) he could house in God’s Love and shelter. Moody refused to think a big city could not have the God of the cosmos and of the nooks and crannies infiltrate every corner of it with intimate life-changing Love. Frasier believed he was to not use his God-given talent to play piano at the bed-side of the Queen of England, but rather trek off into the remotest parts of China and show God’s Love to any and all who got in his way. Heidi Baker did not give up when she struggled for a decade moving in and out of mission field countries, often being evicted with no VISA in sight, only to then have a move of God that is unlike Africa has ever seen.

It was an attitude of Belief that these people clung to in those small quiet hours with just them and God. I am so furious at how my mind naturally gravitates toward figuring out how to carry out my Destiny for God. I am called, with my soon-to-be wife, Teale, to go to the mission field and save families and children from fire, poverty and darkness that would never care to learn their name, only gather them up and count them another meal. I know we will slay witch doctors and their gnarly spirits outside the gates of our orphanage! I believe we will one day have dreams where most of the language of those dreams is in the native tongue of those we minister to. I Believe we are going to have a beautiful dwelling on the Field that is able to house people in droves who want to come and experience a new breed of Missionary and how God always intended Love to be. Love is always unleashed because it always carries momentum. It does not fear anything but God in a Holy and reverent way. And it does not bend to man, but comes around Him in an all-encompassing Grace that is never to be bridled but only mounted and ridden straight in to the heart of war and then dearly rested in.

I have been set aside to do something that feels natural to my Spirit and makes others cringe. I’m not better than anyone because of that, but I am called to it. Others are called to be here, stateside, creating awareness of what’s going on in the world and changing their own backyards and neighborhoods by raising Godly families and not allowing their kids to grow up without knowing their neighbors well. They tend to Jerusalem. I am for Judea, Samaria and the ends of the earth.

But I urge you, seek God for that calling He may have for you life. Know first and foremost that everyone has a calling from Heaven and it’s an epic and intense one that needs more people to seriously commit to carrying it out. “Love your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength. And Love you neighbor as yourself.” Love God and Love others. Simple, difficult, easy and demanding of all you have! The greatest commandment does not read as a suggestion of all you could give to accomplish it…It’s a list of demands that should hold you Holy hostage, confiding in you as to what you will  need to give in order for God’s will to be done.

You are ever in an endless battle of tug-of-War and I stress, it is a War! Please consider before God is you have another calling, perhaps as to where you are to carry out the greatest commandment. It will cost you everything, for all a missionary is, is someone just like everyone else, but they have been given a Holy GPS, a Heaven-directive if you will, as to where to pack up and go. The harvest is ripe but the laborers are few! Let’s be honest, some of the greatest missionaries who are walking the earth right now are not in the field…and I say that with the Revival that is still occurring as we speak ’round the globe. If you do not ask you will not receive. Do not let the flip be true…If you do not receive, you will not ask. That’s lazy Faith and many of us play it safe by not thinking we need to seek God on up-root my life questions. After all, if I give it all over to Him, why do I then need to pack it all up and go somewhere else. Things like, “But God is needed everywhere,” and “I don’t think I would make a good missionary,” are lame excuses from a cracked faith. Do not let what’s wrong with you keep you from worshipping and seeking what is Right in and by Him.

I dare you to ask Him if you and yours should go somewhere else. If you’re so confident that you are where you’re supposed to be, then why would you not test the Lord’s Good Word and ask Him to confirm that? Perhaps because if you ask impossible things, He will call you sell it all and follow Him. He might ask you to sell your house, your retirement plan and everything else those around you, including Loved ones, call security and wisdom…and then He might tell you to take your lovely wife and 4 little toe-head girls into the heart of Africa. Who are you to argue, but all the more, who are you not to ask. If you do not ask, you do not receive. I would wager that if everyone seriously sought God for where they were to serve God and spread the good news we would have Revival right here at home…for all these people whoa re comfortable or dead set that they belong in the good ‘ol USofA would have gone through the dark night of the soul, where they knew they might have to give it all up and go! Not how scary…How exciting!

Again, you’re reading the words of a young buck missionary who is about ready to embark on getting married, having kids within the year after that and hearing from Loved ones about retirement and career jobs more than ever before! I’m in it!! But I know that I am a missionary and that I am going to have one heck of a Father-in-Law one day because he is entering into a relationship where his Son-in-Law is taking his baby girl into the Mission Field…where it’s not always safe, where we will struggle with money to some degree, where people won’t speak our name, where I will have to protect my wife physically perhaps…but we will be rich and right where we are supposed to be! I urge you, ask and then receive! I am seeking right now and it feels phenomenal. I do not even believe God will tell me where because Teale and I already feel in our hearts that we need to find our tribe of people. We find them, and we will find God speaking loud and clear to us about what’s next! The Bread of Life often becomes breadcrumbs for us to Holy follow Him. I don’t even want what’s next…I want Him.

I urge you, engage in this tug-of-War and know that as you near this gift of what you were meant to do from God’s lips Himself, you will encounter all the flaming darts of the Enemy. Even if they hit upon a Holy shield of prayer and Love and Bravery, they still burn and are hot as Hell. Keep going and if you never have asked the tough questions, start going! You should have God show you that you are not a missionary if you think you are not that kind of person. After all, if you’re so convinced you are not to go out and be that kind of Christian, then He will surely affirm that in prayer and through those around you. Here’s to revival both near and far!

Go.Missionary.Go.

About justingunter

I'm recently 29 years old, recently married and ready to change the world for God. He has called me to be a missionary! This means more than just changing zip codes and living in countries where I struggle (for a while) speaking the language the locals dream in. It means a lifestyle of sacrifice, audacious Hope and above all, a desire for Jesus simply because He is who He is. I moved to Franklin, TN in October 15th of 2012 and expect this to be the first of many changes for the great calling on the Gunter's life. Side note...I dig being married. It helps when you're married the best woman ever! Teale and I feel called to plant churches, combat sex trafficking and be a place of refuge and Holy sojourn to all who would seek to join alongside us for good or for a season. For now, Ol' Rocky Top is our home, Zoey is our Great Dane and we, the Gunters, love Jesus with all we have.

Leave a Reply

